Mindgame – Standard Edition



Mindgame – Standard Edition

(1 customer review)
5.00 out of 5 based on 1 customer rating


Written by David J Howe.

A novelisation of the original dramas produced by Reeltime Pictures and released on DVD by Koch Media.

134pp. B-format paperback novelisation.
ISBN 978-1-84583-987-1
Published January 2021

We always aim to ensure that books are sent out as quickly as possible, but sometimes it can take a little longer than usual, so please do not query non-receipt until 28 days after the date the order was placed.


‘A Sontaran, a Draconian and a Human … It sounds like the beginning of a bad joke.’

Sontaran Field-Major Sarg, Draconian Colonel Eskon and a Human mercenary who cannot remember her name have nothing in common … that is until they are each snatched from their everyday lives to do battle in an alien arena on an asteroid suspended in the void! With a massive clash of cultures looming, can they each settle their differences and work together to defeat the alien intelligence which is trying to pit them against each other …?

And then, once returned to their own times and places, can they continue as they were before, or has the experience changed them all?

An exciting adventure from the Worlds of Doctor Who.

‘Finding this book was like finding a Target book that you never knew existed! It manages to capture the style and spirit of the good Target novels.’ avantuyl, Gallifreybase

‘… thoroughly enjoyable …’ Sue Davies, SFCrowsnest

Mindgame is based on, and expands upon, the 1998 Reeltime Pictures drama production Mindgame and the 1999 Reeltime Pictures drama production Mindgame Trilogy. Both released on DVD by Koch Media (titled Mindgame Saga) and available from www.timetraveltv.com. All characters are used with permission of the relevant rights owners. This book has not been licensed or approved by the BBC or any of its affiliates.

Mindgame is written by David J Howe, noted Doctor Who writer, collector and historian.

Original Scripts:
Mindgame © 1998 Terrance Dicks
Mindgame Trilogy – ‘Battlefield’ © 1999 Terrance Dicks; ‘Prisoner 451’ © 1999 Miles Richardson; ‘Scout Ship’ © 1999 Roger Stevens.
Sontarans/Rutans © 1974 Robert Holmes, used with permission of Patricia Holmes.
Draconians © 1973 Malcolm Hulke, used with permission of the Estate of Malcolm Hulke.
Rutans © 1977 Terrance Dicks, used with permission of Elsa Dicks.

134pp. B-format paperback novelisation.
ISBN 978-1-84583-987-1
Published January 2021


David J Howe has been involved with Doctor Who research and writing for over thirty years. He wrote the book Reflections: The Fantasy Art of Stephen Bradbury for Dragon’s World Publishers and has contributed short fiction to Peeping Tom, Dark Asylum, Decalog, Dark Horizons, Kimota, Perfect Timing, Perfect Timing II, Missing Pieces, Shrouded by Darkness and Murky Depths, and factual articles to James Herbert: By Horror Haunted and The Radio Times Guide to Science Fiction.

The book talespinning collects David’s many short story pieces and screenplays, and previous fiction titles include Daemos Rising. www.howeswho.co.uk

Additional information

Weight .001 kg
Dimensions 0.1 × 0.1 × 0.1 cm

1 review for Mindgame – Standard Edition

  1. Robert Gerlach

    I learned to read with all Terrance Dicks’ Target Doctor Who novels in the 1970’s, I thoroughly enjoyed the Mindgame/Mindgame Trilogy spin-off videos when they were originally released. With this book David J. Howe very effectively weaved the video footage with the conclusion of the three main characters fates in a very surprising, inventive way – which makes perfect sense. I definitely recommend this book.

Add a review