Angel on the Inside (Angel Series # 12)


Angel on the Inside (Angel Series # 12)


Written by Mike Ripley

Another of Telos Publishing’s reissues of author Mike Ripley’s series of comic crime novels featuring streetwise chancer Fitzroy Maclean Angel.

Includes a specially-written introduction by the author.

309pp. B-format paperback novel.
ISBN 978-1-84583-879-9
Published 22 January 2021

We always aim to ensure that books are sent out as quickly as possible, but sometimes it can take a little longer than usual, so please do not query non-receipt until 28 days after the date the order was placed.


Streetwise chancer Angel is in trouble – again. His partner Amy is being strangely secretive, and when the jailbird who’s been stalking her turns out to be her secret ex-husband, he gets caught up in a hazardous escapade involving Welsh gangsters, female private eyes and ferocious cats.

‘The description of getting into Belmarsh Prison is so detailed that the author must surely have gone through this rigmarole himself … Enough to make you laugh out loud … An unfailingly funny crime series.’ – Professor Bernard Knight (former Home Office Pathologist)

‘Mike Ripley is Britain’s funniest crime writer. Angel On The Inside is both riotous and riotously funny.’ – Peter Guttridge, The Observer

‘Full of the good stuff, with a plot as meaty as prime steak and just as rich in protein …’ – Philip Oakes, Literary Review

Another of Telos Publishing’s reissues of celebrated British author Mike Ripley’s series of comic crime novels featuring Fitzroy Maclean Angel.

First time ever in paperback.

254pp. A5-format paperback novel.
ISBN 978-1-84583-043-1
Published 1 August 2008 (Out of Print)

309pp. B-format paperback novel.
ISBN 978-1-84583-879-9
Published 22 January 2021


Mike Ripley

Mike Ripley is the author of 19 novels, including the award-winning Angel series of comedy thrillers, a dozen short stories and the non-fiction memoir Surviving A Stroke. He was a scriptwriter on the BBC series Lovejoy and the crime fiction critic for the Daily Telegraph and the Birmingham Post, reviewing more than 950 novels over 18 years. In the 1990s he was the co-editor, with Maxim Jakubowski, of the three Fresh Blood anthologies, showcasing new crime-writing talent such as Ian Rankin, Lee Child, Ken Bruen and Denise Mina. He has appeared at many literary festivals and conventions, developed a creative crime writing course for Cambridge University and devised and produced ‘An Audience With …’ stage shows for Colin Dexter and Minette Walters.

After a 25-year career in journalism and public relations, latterly for The Brewers’ Society, he became an archaeologist specialising in Romano-British sites in East Anglia until he suffered a stroke at the age of 50. He sat on the government’s Stroke Strategy Committee and currently supports both the Stroke Association and the Blood Pressure Association.

He writes the monthly column Getting Away With Murder for Shots Magazine, is part of the obituary writing team at the Guardian, and is the series editor for the imprints Top Notch Thrillers and Ostara Crime. Working with the Margery Allingham Society, he completed the novel left unfinished on the death of Youngman Carter in 1969, which was published in 2014 as Mr Campion’s Farewell. A second ‘continuation’ to feature Allingham’s famous detective, Mr Campion’s Fox, is published in 2015.

Additional information

Weight .001 kg
Dimensions 0.1 × 0.1 × 0.1 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Angel on the Inside (Angel Series # 12)”