Telos Publishing wins World Fantasy Award

We have just heard that at the World Fantasy Awards announced on Saturday 4th November at the World Fantasy Convention in Austin, Texas, TELOS PUBLISHING was the recipient of the Special Award: Non-Professional.

The Award was collected by author Graham Joyce on behalf of David J Howe and Stephen James Walker who were unable to attend in person. Graham was able to read out a note from the publishers:

“We’re sorry we can’t be here in person to collect this Award. To be recognised by a World Fantasy Award is an incredible accolade for us, and as Telos Publishing is a small press and we do what we do for love, this means so much to us. We (that is David Howe and Stephen James Walker) would like to thank everyone who has helped Telos to produce some great genre titles, and who keep the wheels moving behind the scenes. To Roger Anderson our webmaster; Debbie Bennett who handles the online orders; and Rosemary Howe who deals with all the trade orders and paperwork. Also mention must go to Arnold Blumberg, Marie O’Regan and David Brunt who have been handing the typesetting and design, and all our brilliant cover artists. It’s a real team effort running a small press and we hope that people will continue to read and appreciate our books for many years to come. Thank you”

For more information on the 2006 World Fantasy Award Nominees, please visit Judges for the 2006 Awards were: Steve Lockley, Barbara Roden, Victoria Strauss, Jeff VanderMeer, and Andrew Wheeler.

The full list of winners of this year’s Awards is as follows:

Best Novel: KAFKA ON THE SHORE by Haruki Murakami
Best Collection: THE KEYHOLE OPERA by Bruce Holland Rogers
Best Anthology: THE FAIR FOLK edited by Marvin Kaye
Best Novella: ‘Voluntary Committal’ by Joe Hill
Best Short Story: ‘CommComm’ by George Saunders
Best Artist: James Jean
Special Award – Professional: Sean Wallace for Prime Books
Special Award – Non-Professional: Telos Books
Lifetime Achievement Awards: John Crowley; Stephen Fabian

Share this post